My DD214

Veterans should be a thing of the past.

Proud to be white?

****WARNING – THIS POST CONTAINS IGNORANCE AND IDIOCY – NO ONE UNDER 18 ADMITTED****

I would like to make it clear, for the record, that I am not a racist. There has apparently been some confusion on this point lately, and I want to make sure that everyone knows the Score.

Before I begin my rant, let’s have some background info, shall we?  I grew up middle-class and white in small-town Texas. Racism and discrimination in general are not unheard of around here, and I’m sure that some of those backwards beliefs rubbed off on me – as a kid.  Any racist ideas that I might have had disappeared after serving my country (the citizens of which, I might add, are multi-hued) alongside Marines of every color.  My concept of racism now is simple, and it is this:

The color of your skin does not determine who you are.

There it is. That was easy. Now, bearing this in mind, let’s get to the real meat of the post. A few days ago I recieved the following email from a friend of mine who was apparently tired of being considered a reasonable person. I knew that some of his ideas on race were contrary to mine, but I’ve never brought it up before. However, the fact that I recieved this crap is a sign that he feels I am sympathetic to his views, and that is unacceptable. I have decided to post my reply here, for the simple reason that a private scolding is not always as effective as a public reprimand. When I am done writing, I will use the handy “reply to all” feature to send all the recipients of this junk a link to this post.  That way they can at least have access to both sides…

Here’s the email. Read carefully. Last chance to send the kids out of the room.

Proud To Be  White  

Someone finally  said it.
How  many are actually paying attention to  this?  

There are  African Americans, Mexican Americans, Asian  Americans, Arab Americans, etc.  
And then there  are just Americans.  

You pass me on  the street and sneer in my direction.  
You Call me  “White boy,” “Cracker,” “Honkey,”
“Whitey,”  “Caveman” … And that’s OK.

But when I call  you, Nigger, Kike, Towel head, Sand-nigger,  
Camel Jockey,  Beaner, Gook, or Chink … You call me a  racist.   

You say that  whites commit a lot of violence against you,  
So why are the  ghettos the most dangerous places to live?  

You have the United Negro College Fund. You have Martin Luther King
Day. You have  Black History Month. You have Cesar Chavez Day. You  
Have Yom  Hashoah You have Ma’uled Al-Nabi You have the NAACP.  
You have BET.  

If we had WET  (White Entertainment Television)  … We’d be  racists.  
If we had a  White Pride Day .. You would call  us racists.   
If we had White  History Month .. We’d be  racists.   
If we had any  organization for only whites to “advance”  OUR lives  ….
We’d be  racists.  

We have a  Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, a Black Chamber of  
Commerce, and  then we just have the plain Chamber of Commerce.  
Wonder who pays  for that?

If we had a  college fund that only gave white students scholarships  
… You know we’d be  racists.  There are over 60 openly proclaimed  
Black Colleges  in the   US , yet if there  were “White colleges” ..
THAT would be a  racist college.  

In the Million  Man March, you believed that you were marching  
For your race  and rights. If we marched for our race and rights,  
You would call  us racists.  

You are proud  to be black, brown, yellow and orange, and you’re  
Not afraid to  announce it. But when we announce our white pride  …
You call us  racists.  

You rob us,  carjack us, and shoot at us. But, when a white police officer  
Shoots a black  gang member or beats up a black drug-dealer running  
From the law  and posing a threat to society  … You  call him a racist.   

I am proud.  
But, you call me  a racist.  

Why is it that  only whites can be racists?  

There  is nothing improper about this e-mail.  
Let’s  see which of you are proud enough to send it on

Well, well, well.

 There are so many things wrong with this that I don’t even know where to start. First of all, we are ALL just Americans. I think that the whole concept of taking pride in the color of your skin is absurd. You have no control over it. None. Part of the cause of our nation’s continued racism is due to people taking pride in silly shit like that. Can’t you be proud of who you are without bringing in the element of pigmentation?

Secondly, I noticed that there was a nice little anti-semitic crack in there. I thought this was about skin color? Funny how irrational hatred can cross those lines so quickly and smoothly.

The ghettos are dangerous because poverty tends to lead to an increase in crime. White kids grow up in ghettos, too. Trailer park, anyone?

I did some research on this little email, and found a much more hateful version of the same letter on the website of a prominent white nationalist party. I won’t link to them, but if you search a little, I’m sure you can find it. The propaganda posted there was much more ignorant, but it bothers me that watered-down propaganda is being circulated by people who claim to be my friends.

The point here is that it’s all racism, and none of it is helping! A recent scientific study showed conclusively that the genetic difference between races is smaller than the difference between people of the same race. So, Jesse Jackson is much more similar to David Duke than he would like to think. Likewise with my white friend and any brown person.

Grow up people. Be proud of your accomplishments, hell, be proud of your failures if you want, just stop being proud of your damned skin color.

12 August, 2007 6:44 PM Posted by | Angry rant, Politics and other hazardous materials, Pride and Prejudice, Release the Bears | 17 Comments