My DD214

Veterans should be a thing of the past.

New focus for the DD214 blog – immigration.

OK folks. I can tell that there are people in and out of this blog on a daily basis. There are few comments and not much response from the reading public that visit this site, but I mean to change that. To this point, I’ve had no real focus, no direction to speak of. But there is one thing that I always get a bad feeling about concerning the rights and liberties of the people in this country – immigration policy.

You see folks, I work in a restaraunt. I’m a full-time college student. And I’m a disabled war veteran. Since I enlisted in the U.S. Marine Corps, I’ve been told that I am a protector. People have called me things like “Hero”, if you can believe it. Everyday people, when they learn that I fought for this country immediately thank me and tell me that the things I’ve done for this country are positive and that I should be proud of my service. For the most part I am proud, but there is a problem with this type of behavoir – it shows total disregard for accountability. No one knows the things I’ve done. And when I say it like that, it makes it sound not-so-good. Well, it’s not. I was a part of an organization that killed many people. Many of which are like most Americans. They pay thier “taxes”, work hard, provide for thier family, and pretty much do what thier told.  The U.S. Military has toppled the Iraqi system of government. We have slaughtered both the guilty and the innocent. And we have done all of this under the banner of democracy, liberty and freedom. The people that refer to me as a hero don’t realize that thier tax dollars are paying for people like me to kill/murder/execute others – all for freedom and liberty they say.

In America we pay for liberty. And no one likes to give away shit for free. Imagine: liberty isn’t free. You have to pay into the system that provides you with liberty…OK, I can see that. We’re human. We can’t be perfect.

But what about the others. The ones on the outside of our system. The ones that see the beauty of it in its purest for AND WANT IN. Why would we deter people who want to contribute to our freedom? It seems counter to the cause. The more people who contribute to freedom, the more freedom we can provide (if indeed liberty is quantifiable).

We all know about the controversy surrounding the Latin-American immigration issue. We all know that it’s a decisive and divisive issue for many of the so-called “leaders” of our country. But what we don’t know are actual facts about the people subject to our policies concerning thier status, health, welfare, etc.

I said before that up until this point, I had no real focus for this blog. My focus is gathering facts and stories about not just immigrants, but people who are affected by immigrants.

I know a woman who married a Mexican immigrant. They’ve been married as long as I’ve known her, over two years. They have two children. She is a natural-born citizen of this country. He is a Mexican immigrant. Thier children are natural-born citizens of this country. Recently he was deported to his country of origin. He committed no crime to instigate his deportation, he was simply hauled away. His wife makes trips down to Mexico to visit him and so thier children get a chance to see thier father.

That’s the information. She just recently told me that she may lose her house over the fiasco too. A natural-born citizen is cornerd by the system that I paid into and defended. I killed people so that her husband could be taken away. This is true. It is true because other things are true, like children go safely to school everyday in this country – because I killed people in Iraq. If one is true, then I say that both are. These children are safe on thier way to school, but we have bastardized them. We took away the father of two, natural-born American Citizens.

These are facts.

Who is doing something about it?

I am. And you can too.

This blog is open for anyone and everyone to post to it. Post your facts, then post your opinion. The cool thing about facts is that other people can derive thier own opinions about them – concentrate on posting the stories and facts about the stories. If you must, include your opinions.

We need to get this man back to his children. We owe it to these children. You, as a taxpayer, paid me to protect this nation from enemies on the outside. Now it’s time to correct the Rot from within. No one is asking for money, just your stories.

30 August, 2006 12:59 PM - Posted by | Just a thought..

7 Comments »

  1. Living in southern california made me realize just how bad the immigration actually is. Illegal immigrants–note the word ILLEGAL–can actually go to college paying in-state tuition, get benefits like medical stuff, driver licenses, etc, and the LEGAL immigrant and natural borns pay the extra taxes for the illegals. The main reason why no one really does anything about illegal immigrants, is because they come here, buy things, and pay taxes on the things they buy. If you sit down and add up all the taxes you pay–to include about 18 cents in various tax gases or more–and then take estimates on how many illegal immigrants there are in the state or country, that’s alot of money. BUT, it’s not right.
    There once was a time where people immigrated to the United States because they wanted to be American. Where is that American pride now? I don’t see it. I see illegal immigrants and people supporting illegal immigrants burning American flags, disrespecting the American values, etc., and just taking advantage of a non-working system.
    Illegals are illegal and should be deported immediately, and should be kept out.
    Those that want to become legal, should be let it in, but don’t come here and burn the American values or what this country was founded on. Respect us and we will respect you.

    Comment by Jason | 30 August, 2006 11:36 PM | Reply

  2. You know, I couldn’t agree with you more. Immigration is bad. So was prohibition. We fixed that though didn’t we. Other than being illegal, you haven’t provided one reason why these people shouldn’t be here. You even cited reasons as to why they are positive influences – buying american products, becoming educated, paying gas taxes. So far, you haven’t said anything that they’re DOING WRONG.

    Yes they’re illegal. And you say they should all be deported. All the Irish that landed in NYC were illegal. Every Italian that came was too. We illegally traded slaves. What does that mean? It means that we, as Americans, adapt our policies for the good of everyone. We don’t blindly follow rules, regulations and laws that are outdated and irrelevant. We have other virtues besides strict adherence to the law. Virtues like empathy and civil disobedience.

    Besides all of the holes in your “argument” and the fact that you don’t care about two american citizens that had thier father deported because of you excellent immigration policy, you didn’t even address any of the things I meant to be a focus of the discussion.

    Now, does anyone out there have anything positive, relevant or informed to say concerning the context of this article?

    Please. By all means.

    Comment by willcharlton | 31 August, 2006 2:02 AM | Reply

  3. I never commented on your example of the father being deported. That is absurd for whatever reason he was deported. It’s a double standard–he gets deported and someone here illegally does not.

    I also met someone who married a man from somewhere in South America. He got deported after the marriage and she had to move with him. They then moved closer to the border, and are trying to get back in legally.

    Also, my dad remarried to someone from Peru. This was all done legally. The paperwork, paying for the paperwork, etc. It took a little over six months to get her to come to the US, then another to get her to stay legally with all the paperwork, etc. Note this is in Iowa, where it seemed to be handled lawfully and correctly.

    The slave trade was illegal, that was years ago. I am sure there were illegal Irish, Italian, Chineese, etc., too many many years ago but they were coming here to be American. That sense of American pride that had motivated the immigration many many years ago seems to be gone.

    My only argument is that if you come here illegaly, you’re screwing everyone that is here legally, and that is wrong.

    The system needs to first focus on getting rid of the illegals before it deports those that are here legally like that father. It’s a screwed up system.

    Other than that, legal immigration is fine with me, though I am sad to see when at times they try to change American ways to their ways. It would be like me trying to go to Italy and Americanize them…..

    Comment by Jason | 31 August, 2006 9:53 AM | Reply

  4. You see, herein lies the problem. You don’t like any immigrants and you discriminate the instant anytime anyone says the word. I can prove it: I never said that her husband came here legally. You assume too much. Not to mention that the qualifier for it being “absurd” is that you assumed he was here legally. Well he wasn’t, so does that make it o.k.? No, sir, that is absurd.

    I also don’t understand your psuedopoints concerning American ways and American pride.

    What could be more American than immigrating to a land of freedom and liberty? You seem to forget that if you follow that family line of yours far enough, you’ll see someone like Pablo Villalobos or Juan Sanchez. Fleeing your country of origin to seek refuge in the grand old U.S. of A. is the American way. Somewhere along the line you missed that I think. The gateway to this country actually reads “Give me your tired, your poor, Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, The wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me. I lift my lamp beside the golden door.” Don’t forget that these illegals that you speak so lowly of betrayed thier country of origin JUST TO BECOME AMERICAN!

    But its not o.k. by you right? Nevermind what our predecessors have dictated. Nevermind that this country was built on the backs of immigrants performing cheap, exhausting labor that the elite refused to perform. Nevermind all that.

    So you want to ship every illegal immigrant out of this country to thier country of origin. You seem to want to do this for two reasons: they’re illegal and it’s not American. Sounds good man. Why don’t we send everyone back then? We’ll give all the land and all the jobs back to the Native Americans still left and all will be fair. There won’t be anyone around to work the jobs or pay for anything, but atleast it’ll be legal and American.

    Comment by willcharlton | 1 September, 2006 3:46 PM | Reply

  5. I don’t dislike all immigrants.

    My point is is that the immigration that this country was built on years ago has changed today. Years ago, people would come to this country and adapt to American culture, the American way of life, and talk about how great this country is.

    Most now, however, come here and try to enforce their culture on Americans already living here, and then talk about how America sucks.

    I hear it all the time. I see it all the time. Not all immigrants do it, but there are alot. When you drive down a Mexican neighborhood and see the kids burning AMerican flags and holding signs to ignore all illegals, it distrubs me. Why disgrace the country you came into and CONTINUE to stay in? I hate being persucuted by immigrants (legal and illegal) just because I am a natural born American citizen.

    And, we are both affected by illegal immigrants. The Center for Immigration estimated that illegal immigrants cost the taxpayers about $10 billion a year.

    If you gave them amnesty, then they would be allowed to use many more federal and state programs, thus increasing the federal/state costs to about $26 billion.

    Everytime an illegal gets in a car accident here in the states and racks up a $20,000 medical bill–WE pay for it.

    For all the illegal households, most are very low-income, low level households because 2/3 of them don’t have a high school education. Making them legal would put a burden on programs such as welfare.

    Also, illegals only contribute about 43% of their wages to social security and such. What a joke!

    Personally, I would like to see my tax dollars be spent on other things, and not the illegals. Let’s see, $10 billion a year (and rising) could go to schools, military, poor children programs, etc. I care more about helping the LEGAL citizens than the illegal.

    Comment by Jason | 2 September, 2006 12:02 PM | Reply

  6. I TOO KNOW WHAT IT’S LIKE MY HUSBAND IS A MEXICAN IMMIGRANT AND WE HAVE TWO CHILDREN AGES 7 AND 2.
    HE’S BEEN A GOOD HUSBAND AND FATHER BUT OUR MARRIAGE HAS BEEN TOUGH. IT’S HARD TO MAKE ENDS
    MEET, RECENTLY I DEVELOPED EPILIPSY AND HAVE BEEN SICK. MY HUSBAND HAS BEEN WORKING AND TAKING CARE OF US, WITHOUT HIM I WOULD BE LOST. HE HASN’T TAKEN ANYONES JOB. LAZY PEOPLE OBVIOUSY CAN’T GET OFF THE COUCH TO LOOK FOR ONE.

    THEY SAY MY HUSBAND NEVER PAYS TAXES BUT IN ALL REALITY THEY TAKE TAXES OUT OF HIS CHECK AND GETS NOTHING IN RETURN.

    ALSO I WANT TO SAY THAT AT ONE POINT OUR ANCESTORS WERE ALL IMMIGRANTS AND SOME HOW
    WE WORKED THIS OUT.

    BUT THEN LATER ON SOME PEOPLE THOUGHT THEY WERE
    GOD AND STARTED SLAVERY. PEOPLE WERE SLAUGHTERED MADE TO BE SLAVES. THEY WERE RAPED
    THEY WERE CALLED COONS AND NIG*ERS AND
    THE LIST GOES ON. THIER IS ONLY ONE DIFFERENCE
    BETWEEN BLACKS AND MEXICANS IS THEY HAVEN’T
    MADE IT THE SLAVERY STAGE.

    I JUST WANT MY LIFE TO FEEL FREE……………

    Comment by ERICA | 21 November, 2006 12:11 AM | Reply

  7. I TOO KNOW WHAT IT’S LIKE MY HUSBAND IS A MEXICAN IMMIGRANT AND WE HAVE TWO CHILDREN AGES 7 AND 2.
    HE’S BEEN A GOOD HUSBAND AND FATHER BUT OUR MARRIAGE HAS BEEN TOUGH. IT’S HARD TO MAKE ENDS
    MEET, RECENTLY I DEVELOPED EPILIPSY AND HAVE BEEN SICK. MY HUSBAND HAS BEEN WORKING AND TAKING CARE OF US, WITHOUT HIM I WOULD BE LOST. HE HASN’T TAKEN ANYONES JOB. LAZY PEOPLE OBVIOUSY CAN’T GET OFF THE COUCH TO LOOK FOR ONE.

    THEY SAY MY HUSBAND NEVER PAYS TAXES BUT IN ALL REALITY THEY TAKE TAXES OUT OF HIS CHECK AND HE GETS NOTHING IN RETURN.

    ALSO I WANT TO SAY THAT AT ONE POINT OUR ANCESTORS WERE ALL IMMIGRANTS AND SOME HOW
    WE WORKED THIS OUT.

    BUT THEN LATER ON SOME PEOPLE THOUGHT THEY WERE
    GOD AND STARTED SLAVERY. PEOPLE WERE SLAUGHTERED MADE TO BE SLAVES. THEY WERE RAPED
    THEY WERE CALLED COONS AND NIG*ERS AND
    THE LIST GOES ON. THIER IS ONLY ONE DIFFERENCE
    BETWEEN BLACKS AND MEXICANS IS THEY HAVEN’T
    MADE IT THE SLAVERY STAGE.

    I JUST WANT MY LIFE TO FEEL FREE……………

    Comment by ERICA | 21 November, 2006 12:16 AM | Reply


Leave a Reply

