My DD214

Veterans should be a thing of the past.

Stating the obvious

The other day at work (I work at a very nice Italian restaraunt in a very large mall) my GM, whom I have very high regard for, said "Will, you're a walking paradox: you are all about peace and love yet your favorite movie is "A History of Violence", you are a vegetarian yet your favorite dish at (the restaraunt) is the Gorgonzola Beef Filet Medallions and you hate the government yet you were a Marine for five years." I think that for the former two instances he raises a good point. But the latter should be fairly obvious.

I hate the government, not because I want to fit in with the Minneapolis Uptown scene, but because it was the government's decision to send me and an ARMY of others to invade a small country and kill the shit out of them. Based on what? Well, they're still trying to figure that out. The guys at 1115.Org have insightful conversations about that phenomenon every day and STILL, an agreement cannot be reached as to why we decided to go to Iraq. I think it is also fairly obvious that the government has lied to me. They promised me, as a U.S. Marine, that there would be WMD's found on Iraqi soil. It is a lie because they couldn't hold up on the promise. If I promise Fernando I'll give back his flip-flops and fail to give them back – I lied. It's really quite simple. 

30 May, 2006 5:22 PM - Posted by | Just a thought..

7 Comments »

  1. I was just looking for those flip-flops the other day. I had forgotten all about that.

    Comment by Fernando | 31 May, 2006 12:39 AM | Reply

  2. Ah-HA! Where is my gortex?! I know you have my gortex, Rizo! You took it because you are jealous of this Peurto Rican stud! I want my gortex back, or I will come over there and wear all your silk shirts! Ricky Martin would not like you for taking my gortex!

    Comment by Ramos-Diaz | 2 June, 2006 10:38 AM | Reply

  3. The internet was made for slandering Ramos-Diaz.

    Comment by Fernando | 2 June, 2006 4:12 PM | Reply

  4. You also have my dust googles, Reezo. I need them. My eyes are so dry… Ay carajo!

    Comment by Sgt. Marin | 2 June, 2006 6:15 PM | Reply

  5. I don’t even believe that Ramos-Diaz and Marin are commenting on the My DD214 Blog. This is truelly a significant and glorious day in the Clay, Fernando and Will thingy we have going here.

    Comment by willcharlton | 2 June, 2006 7:53 PM | Reply

  6. Wars are faught by soldeirs and manufactured by politicians. Being the winning-est general in WWII, what good is a general or leader who doesn’t take the same risks of his soldiers? Ike and Clark never seemed to never care about winning, but only about looking good for their political career. And Truman was a pussy during the Korean War. You had a million Chineese communists flowing into Korea and killing Americans, and MacArthur pleaded to continue bombing the hell out of them successfully; but Truman wanted to do nothing and American lives were lost. When MacArthur was fired by Truman and the Chineese took Seol shortly after slaughtering Americans, America should have woken up and realized that politicians shouldn’t be making the decisions. War is absolute, and if we have the power we should use it to save our lives.

    Comment by Patton | 3 June, 2006 11:44 AM | Reply

  7. You are mis-informed. MacArthur did not want to continue normal bombing. He asked the joint chiefs for 65 Nuclear bombs to be dropped on Mainland china cities. This was crazy. Let us suppose that the U.S. did this. How would we occupy China? we can not even occupy IRAQ. Truman was backed by the entire joint chiefs staff in the Congressional hearings that followed. the U.S. was not in a position to start WWIII. Russia would have had to join in and probably against the U.S. MacArthur was grandstanding and trying to right a blunder he made by
    1. splitting his forces on the coasts.
    2. not pulling back immediately when Military Intelligence saw 250,000 troops coming at his forces of ~40,000
    3. Insulting Mainland China in the press againt the orders of his superiors.

    Comment by Truman | 22 January, 2008 4:33 PM | Reply


Leave a Reply

