My DD214

Veterans should be a thing of the past.

Wrong for most.

I was getting off of work and going to get a beer. I hadn't the slightest clue on how I would soon interpret the information I'd been shown.

For years. Literally, years. People have been shown, visually and verbally, how important and patriotic it is to thank a servicemember for his/her service done for this country. I just want to take this time to offer up a different…former servicemember's…perspective on this reaction.

You support the status quo. You may not like the fact that we're at war, but you support it. You support the cause. You identify with the factors of the current government and would gladly offer up your opinion of the present situation in the Middle East. The people that you support are over there fighting for a common goal: freedom and the equality of all men under the sun.

I want you to tell it to me. I want to hear it. It makes me proud. It justifies my actions.

Tell it to me again. I can't wait to hear it. "Thank you sOOOO much for defending our country." "No", pause for effect. "I really mean that. Thank you soo much."

Well I'm sorry, but I just don't fucking buy it. You don't realize what I hear when you say such things. You say thank you, but don't realize that by your admission of thanks, you concede that I could've died for the cause. You're a person that is willing to have people die for you, not with you. You're willing to accept my death at the cost of your freedom. Freedom that you already had. Freedom you don't exercise. Freedom that you trade away. Freedom that lies in dormancy. I wastes. It atrophies. All you can do is thank me. And for what? Thanks for standing up for me? Thanks for wiping my ass? I went to Iraq and killed people. There was no protection of American liberties over there, unless of course if you count bombing brown people as an American virtue.

You do it. You fucking try crawling your ass through the worst imaginable environments with a 60 pound pack. Then find out that there was no threat. Saddam had no ties with Osama. There were no WMDs. All they had was an army that was in dire need of a leader. And we killed them. For what? For standing thier ground. Then tell me about what our freedoms means to you.

Don't Trade away what my predecessors and I have vied and bled for.

Freedom Vs. Security.

7 May, 2006 4:50 AM - Posted by | Politics and other hazardous materials, Release the Bears, We don't need no educations

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

