My DD214

Veterans should be a thing of the past.

Lah Ti Dah.

I want the record to reflect that I do not take responsibility for what is happening to the U.S. of A.

I was in S. Korea on a deployment called KITP with Sgt. Pete Wilbur and Cpl. Luke Hoppe as my NCO's and Aric McKenna and Drew Merideth for my OICs when the presidential election appointment was decided in 2000. I remember that I was very much in support of the Bush back then. I filled out an absentee ballot for GW and one for Jesse Ventura around that same time.

Yes, I was a part of the problem. I had a good excuse though, I was a U.S. Marine with two years of service under my belt. I was motivated and I wanted to be a frickin' Drill Instructor of all things…by the way much props to Orta and those like him for being DIs, you guys changed my life. My point is that I was a part of the problem and I want to be a part of the solution now.

I was accessory to the murder of tens of thousands of Iraqi people during the war on Iraqi Freedom*. I say this because I believe it to be true. I simply don't think that the current White House administration is justified by sending me over there to use my training for murder of those wonderful people. Their army was defenseless. Saddam didn't spend money on upkeep and maintenance. They were using poor equipment and their military wasn't unified (thanks to U.S. propoganda, which was very clever by the way).

There had to be another approach.

*I want to clarify that I said "the war on Iraqi Freedom". Not "Operation Iraqi Freedom". It is all but apparent to me that the war, up until this point…going on it's fourth year now…has done nothing but restrict the Iraqi peoples' ability to unify and self govern. We have drawn lines in the sands of the Middle East not with a stick but with bullets and bombs. And we wonder why they hate us.

People who love america.

Day care in Iraq.

2 May, 2006 6:40 PM - Posted by | Just a thought..

4 Comments »

  1. Will, this is pretty much your best post yet. Maybe this new Mac ain’t so bad.

    Comment by Fernando | 3 May, 2006 12:00 AM | Reply

  2. Yea man war aint so bad after all and I spose youse that went bleive you got no sponsibility to those left behind. well youse all got sponsibility.

    Comment by ChrisRan | 4 May, 2006 6:35 PM | Reply

  3. To ChrisRan: don’t drink and post to the internet, unless drinking makes you exceptionally funny. Drinking appears to make you incoherent, which is another thing entirely.

    Comment by Fernando | 4 May, 2006 9:55 PM | Reply

  4. To ChrisRan: don’t drink. don’t post to the internet. don’t do anything. please.

    Comment by Clay | 4 May, 2006 11:15 PM | Reply


Leave a Reply

